Five years in the making..

Toady Rick and I celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary. We didn’t do much, just took the day easy and enjoyed our time together and our kids. We took of to the local zoo and killed a few hours and then came home and napped.. a pretty good day all around.

From dating, getting engaged, getting married and having our first child all within the first year of our relationship, we’ve manged to come out on top. Five years later and we’ve added another beautiful child to our family and still going strong. Sometimes it seems like we’ve just started dating and everything is so new, like nothing has changed with time – besides the addition of our children, I still feel as in love with him as I did the first time we told each other “I love you”. Marrying this man has got to be one of the best decisions I have ever made – well besides having his children that has to rank higher than marrying him!

Our wedding was definitely a whirlwind of a day. We managed to plan our wedding in 6 days – I think that might be a record.. well for me anyway. We got married at 8:20am on Melbourne Beach, and then headed to Publix to pick up our cake, which we didnt’ notice was buggered up – I’ll have to find the pic. it’s somewhere around here, then the reception. We spent the rest of the day basking in our love and knowing that we had just committed the rest of our lives to each other.

I think Rick and I get along so well because we were friends way before we started dating. Yeah we had our “fling” when we were first hanging out, but it’s become so much more than that. He’s truely my best friend, I tell him everything – I’m not sure he wants to hear half of what I tell him, but he hears it (well.. he acts like he’s listening) anyway. We still chase each other around the house either squirting each other with the water bottle, depantsing or just being plain ol’ silly. Maybe we act like kids – great role models we are, but I think that’s what makes us work.

Here’s to hoping I’ll be posting a “We hit our 10 year anniversary” post in another 5 years.

I’ve added a few wedding photo’s just incase you missed our day..

March 22, 2008. married life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

